Overview
System generated templates
Custom templates
Updating templates
System Templates
Custom Templates
Global application (Using template across projects)
Overview
Templates, which can be found at the top of the Modify View screen, are used to save user preferences for a project in iCode. They are an efficient way for users to choose a pre-selected set of fields to apply to a project, especially if a user is consistency creating the same type of projects from the same datasets.
There are system generated (auto-applied) templates for iSearch sources and you can also make your own custom templates as needed. Templates are saved at the project level, but you can choose to toggle on the option to 'Save to use in other projects' as well.
If you have added content based on a spreadsheet, no template will be automatically selected for you, but you can go to Modify View and choose a Template to apply, or save a new template for that project.
Who can edit templates?
All collaborators in the project can see Settings and access Modify View to edit the template, or in other words, viewing preferences, for that project. This gives collaborators such as Coders the ability to change their viewing settings for themselves as needed.
Depending on your role in the project, you may only have the option to Save for this project, meaning you will only be saving these viewing updates for yourself, not all collaborators. However, any template you edit and create as a custom template can be made available to you to use in future projects if you toggle this option on (learn more below).
Who can apply edits?
Although everyone in the project can edit the Template, only Owners and Managers have the option to apply this change for all collaborators. These user roles will have a Save for All Collaborators or Save (for themselves only) option.
System generated templates
If a project is made from an iSearch source, we have pre-selected a template based on the applicable dataset added for your source data. This automatically narrows down the fields shown in the various views, but can be edited for your own preferences.
If you do make changes to a system generated template, you will be prompted to save this new template with a unique name; this new template will appear in the Custom Template thereafter.
Custom Templates
These are templates which are available in your template dropdown, within Modify View. These may include templates of other collaborators, such as Managers of other projects, that you have chosen to save for yourself and use in various projects.
Altered system generated based templates may also be included in this category. Only templates saved for the project you are within, or chosen to be saved for use in future projects, will be viewable here (see more below).
Updating templates
Anytime a change is made in Modify view, the Save button at the bottom of Modify View will activate, and be clickable. Depending on your role in that project, and the template you are making a change to, you will see different options in the subsequent screens.
System Templates
You must save any edits made on a System Generated Template as a Custom Template.
Note: Only Owners or Managers will see the Save for All Collaborators option.
After giving the template a new name and choosing the Save option, the window will close. If you revisit Modify View, you will see your newly named Custom Template as the selected template from the dropdown:
Custom Templates
These will include any unique, custom templates you have created for yourself, or saved based on changes made to a system generated, or owner/manager's template.
When saving a change to your own custom template, you will have two options:
- Save and override existing template
- Save as a new template
The subsequent Save options (Save for all collaborators or Save) will be based on your role in that project. Again, note only Owners or Managers will see the Save for All Collaborators option.
Save and override existing template
No need to rename since you are saving over the existing copy.
Note: Changes to the global, or Save to use across other projects option, as well as the name of the template will be available in the future feature designed to Manage Templates.
Alternatively, you can Save as a new template.
Global application (Using templates across projects)
As mentioned, iCode is designed for data to be saved at the project level so that projects are unique. However, it is well known that many users create the same types of projects and would choose the same viewing preferences for those same projects, i.e. Grants projects. To assist with this, when saving a custom template, you will have the option to 'Save to use in other projects'. (System generated templates will already be available for your use in future projects.) This will be designated by a world type logo adjacent to that custom template.
In the Template saving window, the toggle (as seen in other screenshots above), will look like this:
Comments
0 comments
Article is closed for comments.